top of page
  • Writer's pictureMark

February 2019

Updated: Mar 27, 2019

Well here we are in February, I have decided to give street photography a rest and have a go at landscape photography.


At the end of January the Matlock camera club had a visit from respected landscape photographer Tony Worebiec. Tony gave a talk on 'Night & Low Light Photography'

which inspired me to try my hand at landscape.


On the 21st Jan I headed for Mam Tor to try and catch the renowned classic shot of the gate looking over the Great ridge and down into Castleton.


I pre-visualized; a technique from my Street photography visits as taught by Mr Cartier-Bresson ( & Many others!)


I imagined the sun rising behind me lighting the valley and exposing the gate in all its glory, the sky was blue and the grass a lush green after the melting snow.


I was ready!


I need to work on my pre-visualization, at least work it in with the local weather forecast.

Snow was everywhere and my bits froze as soon as I left the car.


The climb up must be quite straight foreword in fine weather but on this occasion I resembled Scooby-doo escaping the masked villain. Luckily I made it to the top in tact.


Having made it to the gate I couldn't see what all the fuss was about...it was just a gate.

In fact, that's all I could see!


I decided to wait for the mist to lift and learnt my first lesson of Landscape photography, (sorry the second, the first is surely...read the bloody weather forecast!!!!) the second has to be patience and lots of it...with a good deal of disappointment thrown in.


I encountered a number of lost and confused mountain bikers or at least their dads, they really should know better and would have been better off sat in the pub, near the fire, dog by their side and a pint of Derbyshires finest ale to their lips. At this moment I questioned my own sanity and thought about heading for said pub...but alas I was learning the ill-fated motivator of every Landscape photographer...Hope!


So, I decided to look for a reasonable shot so my day wasn't wasted. (In all honesty a day on Mam Tor in any kind of weather is a good experience)


Returning to the start of the walk I noticed a snaking road which I'm sure has a name but can't recall, it was still very misty but from what I could see it looked potentially good.

I was rewarded for my patience and hope; the mist lifted enough to expose enough of the road to get a reasonable shot. (This is the third picture in the Landscape tab)


All in all I was happy with my first effort and the lessons I'd learnt.


Well since this is a blog and not a novel I guess I should say cheerio until next time.




 

ASHBOURNE & DOVEDALE 23/3/19


Recently I have been asked to take photographs of Ashbourne to highlight some of what the town has to offer. Each year I photograph the Shrovetide football but pay little attention to the town itself.


Wikipedia informs me that Ashbourne is known as 'The Gateway to the Peak District' and that it was granted a market charter in 1257. It goes on to say that a 'Traditional' market is held every Thursday and Saturday on the picturesque cobble-stoned market place. In 2012 Derbyshire County Council threatened to close it.This decision was met with fierce disapproval by way of an on-line petition.


Excellent! I thought. With such passion for the upkeep of the market there has to be an opportunity for an image or two. I was now encouraged and prepared myself for photographing the next Saturday market. Thinking about the jostling and banter of the market traders I was determined to catch the start of the preparations so decided to get there for 6 am.


Arriving at Ashbourne I headed for the Shawcroft car park, taking advantage of the free parking offered to Derbyshire Dales residents (I say free, actually with the ever increasing Council tax it is hardly free....gripe over)


Grabbing my rucksack and tripod I headed for the market place, ready to catch the lively action.



Needless to say....No Market!!!


I decided to wait for 10 minutes, then 10 more and 10 more.


At 6:30 am I gave up and considered what my other options may be.


I had always been intrigued by the 'Gallows inn sign' of the Green man pub, so somewhat deflated I headed for St John St.


The Green man was built in the 1750's as the towns premier coaching inn. In the 1820's the owner acquired the neighbouring Blackmoors head inn and joining the two buildings came up with the catchy name of 'The Green man and Black's head Royal Hotel'


The building has been used as a public meeting room, a local magistrates and County Courts.


In recent times the the head quarters for the Ashbourne Royal Shrovetide committee.


The Guinness book of records had it listed as the 'Longest inn sign in the world' when it had a name change to 'The Royal green man and black moor's head cmmercial and family hotel'.


The Black Moor's head smiles as you enter the town





And frowns as you leave




At least I think it's that way round.





To be continued......

95 views8 comments
bottom of page